I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Assisted Living Conversion for Eligible Multifamily Housing Projects

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Who is eligible to apply...

Only private nonprofit owners of eligible multifamily assisted housing developments specified in Section 683(2) (B), (C), (D), (E), and (F) (Section 202 projects for the elderly, Rural Housing Section 515 projects receiving Section 8 rental assistance, projects receiving project-based rental assistance under Section 8, projects financed by a below-market interest rate loan or mortgage insured under Section 221(d)(3) of the Housing Act, or housing financed under Section 236 of the National Housing Act) that have been in occupancy for at least five years are eligible for funding. To be eligible, owners must meet the following criteria: (1) Must be in compliance with your Loan Agreement, Capital Advance Agreement, Regulatory Agreement, Housing Assistance Payment Contract, Project Rental Assistance Contract, Rent Supplement or LMSA Contract, or any other HUD grant or contract document; (2) Must be in compliance with all fair housing and civil rights laws, statutes, regulations, and executive orders a enumerated in 24 CFR 5.105(a). In addition to the above, private nonprofit owners of unused or under utilized commercial structures may also be eligible to apply.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

ALF facility must be licensed and regulated by the State (or if there is no State law providing such licensing and regulation, by the municipality or other subdivision in which the facility is located). The application must include a firm commitment for the supportive services to be offered at the ALF as part of the application. Applicants are provided all other necessary information to apply for the grants in the Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA).

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.